Life and Bicycles

Everyone has a different perspective about life,some think that money can buy everything whereas some believe that education is the only way to gain respect,power,recognition,admiration and popularity……. “money” or “education”

Which one are you????

Different people will have different things for the answer to this question,mainly because all human beings differ from each other(at some point) and not every one of us wants to become doctors and engineers.My answer to this question doesn’t matter because I too am trying to figure it out..

In ancient past, most people’s life was limited by the need to meet necessities such as food and shelter.Evolution has brought a great deal of change in human life..Nowadays different people have different lifestyles and these lifestyles build their character.A lifestyle typically reflects an individual’s attitudes, way of life, values, or world view,therefore a lifestyle is a means of forging a sense of self and to create cultural symbols that resonate with personal identity,but life doesn’t seem so simple,does it???

blogger-image-1238185656

Yesterday,as I was passing by an old tea stall near my college I saw an old man trying to fix his bicycle..It was not the first time that I had seen this human-powered, pedal-driven, single-track vehicle,in fact I used to own one few years back.Although I didn’t know much about repairing a bicycle, I wanted to help him,I felt compulsive towards this man..As I walked closer to him,his kind eyes stared at mine..

“hello,can I help you” I addressed him

He smiled at me and said “what would you know about repairing a bicycle”

“I can try”

“haha thankyou son but I  have everything I need”

I was disappointed that my offer got rejected but the old man was right,what do I know about repairing a bicycle..After sometime he took a deep breath,smiled at me and said “finally its done”

As he stood up to leave he told me how both of his tires got punctured while he was on his way to work then he did an unusual thing,instead of sitting on the bicycle’s saddle,he sat on the rack.He grinned at me and said”this is how I ride,I feel more comfortable this way”for a minute he rearranged his position to achieve the desired fit and comfort and then left

At that moment I visualised his bicycle as his life.He was putting in all his effort to move his bicycle,he also tried very hard to balance it…Although it seemed pretty hard,he looked comfortable and happy.A person can relate life with a bicycle,there is a lot of common things between them.

I don’t know if money or education is more important but that day I realised that comfort is the most important thing in life.Once you have comfort, no matter what,you will be capable of leading your life in a way that you want and you will also be happy…

Leave a Reply

